Chakras Explained: What You Need To Know About Your 7 Chakras

  • 5 min read
Navigating This Space - chakras explained

The topic of chakras can be a confusing and complicated one but understanding what they are and how they affect your wellbeing will help you incorporate simple practices to unblock and strengthen them.


Chakras, simply, are energy centers that connect your physical body to your mind and spiritual self. Understanding the chakras will help you to understand what areas in your life are blocking progress or are overworking.


What is a Chakra?


The word chakra comes from  Sanskrit, a classical language of South Asia, and means  “wheel” or “circle”. It’s the spiritual nervous system that keeps the physical body running smoothly. Whenever a chakra’s energy flow is blocked or overactive, the body experiences the physical effects of that particular chakra. 


Unblocking your chakras heals ailments caused by the blockage of energy flows, improves your emotional state of being, and unlocks your full potential.


How do you know if your chakras are blocked?


Every chakra is associated with an organ within the body. If you’re having physical problems with a specific area, more than likely you’re experiencing a blockage of energy flow. More on this in the chakras and their meanings below.


This might sound very supernatural, especially to a beginner, but the truth is that we are all energy beings and when our energy isn’t flowing at a steady and constant pace, we experience problems both physically and spiritually. 


Learning about chakras has absolutely nothing to do with religion. If you’re a religious person, there’s no reason to doubt that you are a spiritual being. Understand that when your energies flow uninterrupted, you’re experiencing a blissful life.


What are the seven chakras and their meanings?



#1 Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Located at the base of the spine it represents your core beliefs, safety, and security issues. It is the center for your survival instincts, family, and community identity. When it’s blocked it causes leg and foot issues physically and trust issues mentally.


Vibration color: Red


#2 Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)

Located at your belly button, it’s the source for creativity, prosperity, and sexuality. Physical issues associated with the blockage of the second chakra include digestive problems, lower back, and sexuality issues. Whenever you’re experiencing a lack of creativity or a lack of sexual desires, it means your sacral chakra is experiencing a blockage. 


An overactive sacral chakra can also create unwanted problems. As with everything in life, a healthy balance is ideal.


Vibration color: Orange


 #3 Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Sitting right below your sternum is your solar plexus chakra. It’s related to self-esteem and boundary issues. An underactive solar plexus means the person suffers from low self-esteem and has attachment issues. An overactive chakra means the person comes off as cocky and stand-offish. Physical issues of this chakra revolve around the urinary system, the pancreas, and the lower mid-back region.


Vibration color: Yellow


#4 Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Located in the center of the chest, it represents compassion, unconditional love, kindness, and forgiveness. It’s physically associated with the ribs, lungs, and, of course, the heart organs. 


Vibration color: Green


#5 Throat Chakra (Vishudha)

Resting just above your Adam’s apple, it represents communication, speaking your truth, and relying on Divine assistance. It’s associated physically with the thyroid, mouth, and throat organs.


Vibration color: Blue


#6 Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

At the center of the forehead, the third eye chakra sits connecting intuition, wisdom, intelligence, and imagination. When open, it allows you to see clearly all that tries to stay hidden. It is physically linked to the brain, eyes, ears, and most popular, the pineal gland.


Vibration color: Purple/Indigo


#7 Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Located at the top of your head, the crown chakra is the main energy source that connects you with your higher self and the universe. It is the portal through which you are constantly receiving guidance from the Divine. No physical organs are associated with it but musculoskeletal issues can be a result of a blocked energy flow.


Vibration color: White


How do you unblock chakras?


Balancing chakras is a lifetime commitment. There’s no way to get them balanced quickly and then forget about them. They are delicate and need to be maintained so they don’t become blocked or overactive. 


Here are a few ways to unblock your chakras



All mediation practices help to unblock and keep the chakras balanced.  If you were already thinking about trying meditation, I’ve just given you another beneficial reason why meditation now is a good time to start.


Do Yoga and breathwork

Practicing yoga and breathwork exercises also work to unblock and balance your chakras while aligning your body with your spiritual self.


Use Crystals and singing bowls

Crystals and singing bowls are great tools to use to clear negative energies, and of course, unblock and balance your chakras. They raise the vibration of the user and allow positive energy to flow uninterrupted. I guarantee that when you start to incorporate crystals and/or singing bowls into your life, you’ll feel like you’re walking on cloud nine immediately after you’ve used them. That feeling is how you should feel all the time.


And there you have it! All seven chakras explained, plainly, and simply. Keep in mind that this is only the surface knowledge of understanding how chakras work Your journey to fully understanding chakras doesn’t end here. Keep digging and exploring different avenues to understand the power of your energy centers.





Jody is a creative writer, artist, graphic designer, and a digital nomad who also helps people live more fulfilling lives by finding creative solutions to their personal growth and development problems and lifestyle challenges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *